Diri Inaugurates Reconciliation Cmte To Unite PDP Family in Bayelsa

Bayelsa: Bayelsa state Governor, Senator Douye Diri, has inaugurated a reconciliation Committee in the state Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The committee has been mandated to reconcile aggrieved members after the party’s recent House of Assembly and National Assembly primaries.
bayelsa state Governor Diri noted that the lack of equity in the society over the years provided the emergence of criminals and criminality in the country.
A statement from the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Daniel Alabrah, disclosed that Governor Diri inaugurated the committee on Tuesday during a meeting with candidates that emerged from the primaries, other aspirants as well as the party leadership in the Bayelsa state Government House, Yenagoa.

He stressed that having concluded the primaries, all members in the party needs to close ranks and work for the victory of the party in the coming 2023 elections.
Rivers State PDP Guber candidates Picks Female As Running mate

While urging the candidates to be humble, Senator Diri stressed the need for them to reach out to others who contested the primaries with them to ensure that they work harmoniously for the victory of the the party in all the state and national assembly seats in the 2023 elections.

“We are inaugurating the reconciliation committee, which is a standing committee, as enshrined in the constitution of our party. It is to address fallouts and the outcome of our party’s primaries and see how best we can continue to remain as a party and put our best foot forward to ensure we are victorious come 2023.

“Our candidates have work to do. You all need to be humble. Please embrace your opponents. Your ability to win them over makes you a better politician because they might be the rock to salvage you,” Diri said.

Former senator representing Bayelsa East Senatorial District, Senator Rufus Inatimi-Spiff was made the Chairman of the committee while Mr. Austin Lugbenwei is to serve as his deputy with Hon. Victor Vianana as secretary.

Other members are Chief Theophilus Moses, Dr. Andrew Ebakpa, Prof. Tarilah Tebepah, Chief Bright Erewari, Hon. Elliot Osomu, Rtd Maj. Zedekiah Isu, Dr. Ayakeme Whiskey, Hon. James Agari, Dr. Godwin Ziriki, Elder Adolphus Forcados, Mr. Natus Zebakeme, Barr. Francis Ikio, and one female each to represent the three senatorial districts.

The governor also charged the emergent candidates sensitize voters early and urged them to get their permanent voters card. He charged them to shun politics of violence and thuggery.

Responding on behalf of the members, the chairman, Senator Rufus Inatimi-Spiff, thanked the governor for the confidence reposed in the committee and assured him that they would carry out their mandate with utmost responsibility.

Previous articleSouth South: Professional Women Association Urges Teenagers To Read
Next articleCRIME: Maid Sentenced To Death For Killing Ex-Edo Governor’s Mother